posted : Sep 10, 2015

GOLFING SCENES , 2015 U.S. Women's Open Golf Championship

 Photographer: Kai Chou of Georgia Weekly Post


▲ Chin Kai Chou.

   Photographer, Georgia Weekly Post

The 2015 U.S. Women's Open Golf Championship was the 70th U.S. Women's Open, held at Lancaster Country Club in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Georgia Weekly Post was there.

The U.S. Women's Open is the oldest of the five current major championships and the third of the 2015 season.

It had the largest purse in women's golf, at $4.5 million in 2015. Additionally, the tournament set an attendance record for the U.S. Women's Open at 135,000 spectators for the week.

The championship is open to any female professional or amateur golfer with a USGA handicap index not exceeding 2.4. Players qualify by competing in one of twenty 36-hole qualifying tournaments held at sites across the United States and at international sites in China, England, Japan, and South Korea. Additional players were exempt from qualifying because of past performances in professional or amateur tournaments around the world.

The United States Golf Association received a record 1,873 entries for the championship.

Many players are exempt in multiple categories. Players are listed only once, in the first category in which they became exempt, with additional categories in parentheses ( ) next to their names. Golfers qualifying in Category 13 who qualified in other categories are denoted with the tour by which they qualified.


Winners of the U.S. Women's Open for the last ten years (2005–2014)

Na Yeon Choi (10,12,15,16), Paula Creamer (10,15,16), Eun-Hee Ji (10), Cristie Kerr (10,11,12,15,16), Birdie Kim, Inbee Park(5,7,10,11,12,15,16), So Yeon Ryu (9,10,12,15,16), Michelle Wie (9,10,15,16)

Exempt but did not enter tournament: Annika Sörenstam

Winner and runner-up from the 2014 U.S. Women's Amateur (must be an amateur)
Kristen Gillman

The runner-up, Brooke Henderson, turned professional in December 2014, forfeiting this exemption. She had previously qualified in category 9.

Winners of the 2014 and 2015 British Ladies Amateur Golf Championship (must be an amateur)
Céline Boutier (2015)

The 2014 winner, Emily Kristine Pederson, was eligible but did not enter the tournament.

Winner of the 2014 Mark H. McCormack Medal (Women's World Amateur Golf Ranking) (must be an amateur)

Minjee Lee turned professional in December 2014, forfeiting her exemption from qualifying. She later qualified under categories 12 and 16.

Winners of the Women's PGA Championship for the last five years (2011–2015)
Shanshan Feng (10,12,15,16), Yani Tseng (6,10)

Winners of the Ricoh Women's British Open for the last five years (2010–2014)
Stacy Lewis (7,9,10,11,12,15,16), Mo Martin (10,12,15,16)

Jiyai Shin (13-JLPGA,15,16) qualified but did not enter the tournament

Winners of the ANA Inspiration for the last five years (2011–2015)
Brittany Lincicome (10,11,15,16), Lexi Thompson (9,10,15,16), Sun-Young Yoo (10)

Winners of the Evian Championship (2013–2014)
Kim Hyo-joo (11,12,13-KLPGA,15,16), Suzann Pettersen (10,15,16)

Ten lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place from the 2014 U.S. Women's Open
Brooke Henderson, Meena Lee (10), Catriona Matthew (10,15,16), Stephanie Meadow, Pornanong Phatlum (10,15,16), Jenny Shin (10,15,16), Amy Yang (10,11,12,15,16), Sakura Yokomine

▲ Amish women, Lancaster, Pennsylvania heading to watch US Open. the tournament set an attendance record for the U.S. Women's Open at 135,000 spectators for the week.

 Top 75 money leaders from the 2014 final official LPGA money list

Marina Alex, Dori Carter, Chella Choi (15,16), Carlota Ciganda (13-LET,15,16), Laura Davies, Laura Diaz, Austin Ernst (12), Jodi Ewart Shadoff, Sandra Gal (15,16), Julieta Granada (15,16), Mina Harigae, Caroline Hedwall, M. J. Hur (12), Karine Icher, Tiffany Joh, Moriya Jutanugarn, Danielle Kang, Haeji Kang, Kim Kaufman, Christina Kim (12), I.K. Kim (15), Katherine Kirk, Lydia Ko (11,12,15,16), Jessica Korda (15,16), Candie Kung, Brittany Lang (16), Ilhee Lee (15,16), Mi Hyang Lee (12,15,16), Mirim Lee (11,12,15,16), Amelia Lewis, Pernilla Lindberg, Caroline Masson, Sydnee Michaels, Belen Mozo, Azahara Muñoz (15,16), Haru Nomura, Anna Nordqvist (12,15,16), Ji Young Oh, Lee-Anne Pace(12,13-LET,15), Hee Young Park (15), Gerina Piller (15,16), Morgan Pressel (11,15,16), Beatriz Recari, Lizette Salas (15,16), Dewi Claire Schreefel, Sarah Jane Smith, Angela Stanford (15,16), Thidapa Suwannapura, Kris Tamulis, Ayako Uehara, Mariajo Uribe, Line Vedel, Karrie Webb (15,16)

Se Ri Pak withdrew from the tournament on June 21 and was replaced by Georgia Hall, the first alternate from the Buckinghamshire qualifier.Jennifer Johnson withdrew on July 6 citing "medical reasons." She was replaced by Mallory Blackwelder, the first alternate from the Scottsdale, Arizona qualifier. 

Top 10 money leaders from the 2015 official LPGA money list, through the close of entries on May 6
Kim Sei-young (12,15,16)


























Next News

Board Pagination ‹ Prev 1 ... 2 Next ›
/ 2